The Royal Photographic Society of Great Britain (RPS)

The RPS is recognised throughout the world as one of the leading photographic organisations. It was established in 1853 and holds one of the most important collections of historic photographs dating from 1827.

The collections are currently housed in the National Museum of Photography Film and Television in Bradford, Yorkshire. Anyone can join the RPS as an ordinary member.

The RPS awards three levels of photographic distinctions,

  • Licentiateship (LRPS),
  • Associateship (ARPS)
  • Fellowship (FRPS)

The RPS distinctions levels are described as:

Licentiateship (LRPS) is normally the entry level Distinction and is awarded for a good level of basic skill and competence. Open to members and non-Members.

Associateship (ARPS) is awarded for a high standard of technical competence and individual creative ability. Open to members and non-Members.

Fellowship (FRPS) is awarded for exceptional standards of excellence and distinguished ability. You need have achieved the ARPS before you can apply for the FRPS.

More information from the RPS web site.

The RPS distinctions are recognised worldwide. However, holders of the distinctions must remain members for life to retain the right to use the distinctions.

Follow Us

To receive email notification of new posts, please fill in the subscribe box below.

Cover for Oldham Photographic Society


Oldham Photographic Society

Oldham Photographic Society

Oldham Photographic Society offers a warm welcome to photographers at all levels. We meet on Thursday evenings at 7:15 for a 7:30 start.
For full details of how to join, please visit our web site at https://oldhamphotographic.co.uk/

Also at the Saddleworth Show …

See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

On 21st March, we hosted the Adrian Deaville Trophy, in memory of a young man who tragically died in an air crash. The 4 clubs from Oldham and Rochdale get together every year to remember him. Christine is photographed here receiving the award for the winning club, Oldham Photographic Society, on behalf of the Society's members. The Judge was David Butler from Southport PS.

See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook